Thursday, 11 July 2019

CRSHA wants deployment of security agencies, relief materials for warring communities in Odukpani

Government News Source|11 July 2019 

The State Assembly has adopted a resolution calling on the State  Government to urgently deploy Security Agencies to Idim Ndom and Obom Itiat Communities for constant patrol and to prevent further destruction of lives and property.

The Assembly also wants the State Government to engage the leaders and stakeholders of Ikot Offiong and Eniong communities in a dialogue towards finding lasting solution to the crisis while also calling on National Emergency Management Authority (NEMA) and its state counterpart SEMA to send relief materials to the victims of the crisis.

The House do set up a special committee to look into the matter and make appropriate recommendations.

The Assembly took these resolutions following the presentation of a matter of urgent public interest brought on the flour of the House by Member representing Odukpani State Constituency Hon Francis Bassey Asuquo who informed of the recent outbreak of communal clashes between the neighbouring Communities in his constituency.

Asuquo who lamented the wanton destruction of lives and property in the area, informed that primary schools and health facilities in the communities have been destroyed.

In their remarks, Members unanimously condemned the reoccurring crisis while  recalling  efforts of the 8th legislature to bring lasting peace to the warring communities which included a joint session with Akwa Ibom State Legislators. They expressed regrets that the crisis which at a point was between Cross River and Akwa Ibom State communities was now between Sister communities adding that urgent steps must be taken to stop the wanton destruction of lives and property.

The Speaker of the House Rt Hon Eteng Williams çonsequently set up a special 5 man committee to interface with The affected communities which is to be chaired by Member representing Obubra 1, Rt Hon Friday Okpechi while Hon Godwin Akwaji representing Obudu, Rt Hon Itam Abang representing Boki 1, Rt Hon Ogbor Ogbor Udop representing Biase and  Rt Hon Elizabeth Ironbar representing Bakassi will serve as members.

No comments:

Post a comment

***We ❤ to hear from you, Tell us Your views and opinion. Please note that comments are always moderated, Abusive comments won't be approved, and spammy comments are deleted automatically.

Your Comment Are Welcome !!!!!!